Hail and farewell

by Elizabeth Spiegel AE

After an extended term as Tasmania’s representative on the Accreditation Board (AB), Dr Vicki Nelson AE has stepped down, to be replaced by Dr Eve White AE. Vicki has served through a turbulent time, as the Board coped with delivering the exam to candidates unable to attend a testing centre, only a few years after the 2016 switch from paper to screen. We hope Eve’s tenure will be less exciting.

As our AB representative, Eve will be an ex-officio member of the branch committee. 

Eve told us a little about herself in the April issue of Gatherings.

This is my last column as President — or indeed as a committee member — of EdTas for the foreseeable future. I’ve been on the committee since offering to manage the website of what was then the Society of Editors Tasmania Inc in the lead-up to the 2007 national conference in Hobart.

During that time, I’ve made great friends and learned a lot. I’ve moved from the public service into freelance editing; switched my focus from websites to books; attended six conferences and convened one; been President, Secretary, Treasurer and Membership Officer; and served on working parties and boards.

It has been a rewarding 15 years.

By the time you read this, invitations to the Annual Branch Meeting (ABM) will have gone out. If you’re interested in contributing to your branch, nominate for a place on the committee. The work is not onerous and often fun.

If you’d like to know more about what the committee does, drop me a line.

Elizabeth Spiegel AE

President, EdTas