IPEd National Editors Conference

The 10th IPEd National Editors Conference will be held in Hobart, Tasmania from Monday 28Wednesday 30 June 2021.

IPEd Strategic Plan

IPEd Strategic Plan July 2017 to June 2020.

Branch Events

The branches of IPEd host workshops, seminars, member meetings and other events that are open to all IPEd members. Information and booking details for these are listed on the Events page of this website.

To support and recognise the work of Australian editors, IPEd sponsors and supports a number of awards, details listed below.

The Janet Mackenzie Medal – the Mackenzie

IPEd is pleased to announce the inaugural Janet Mackenzie Medal (the Mackenzie), to be awarded to an outstanding professional editor who has lifted the standard of the editing profession and/or given exemplary service to IPEd.

The award honours Janet Mackenzie DE (1947–2018). Janet was an Honorary Life Member (and founding member) of Editors Victoria, and served IPEd in many capacities over many years, including being on the first Standards Working Group, 1998–2001, and most recently on the Style Manual 7th Edition Steering Group, a current working party of IPEd, from which she resigned only weeks before her death.

Nominations for the inaugural Mackenzie opened at the 9th IPEd National Editors Conference in Melbourne on 10 May 2019. The award consists of a medal, an electronic rendering of the medal to be used by the recipient and Honorary Life Membership of IPEd (if the recipient is not already an HLM).

Nominees must be IPEd members and must be nominated by IPEd members. Current members of the IPEd Board, IPEd employees and the administrators of and judges for the award are ineligible for nomination.

The nominating IPEd member will submit a letter in the provided template to IPEd detailing how their nominee fulfils the criteria for the award. As a guide, the letter should be 600–1000 words. The nominator will also recommend three referees who know the nominee so the judges can verify the content of the letter. One referee should be professional (e.g. an employment supervisor or a client) and one should be from IPEd. The third can be either employment or IPEd related, or from another person within the publishing industry.

For more detail, please see the 2019 Janet Mackenzie Medal Nomination guidelines.


The Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award: the Rosie

The Rosie is an award for editorial excellence in the memory of Rosanne (Rosie) Fitzgibbon DE (1947–2012). Rosie was a distinguished editor of literary fiction and non-fiction, as well as of scholarly work in literary studies, and the recipient of the inaugural Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship, in 1992. Rosie gave generously to her authors and to her profession, serving in many roles in many organisations.

The Rosie awards excellence in editing, as demonstrated in one work, with testimony from author, publisher and editor. The nomination can come from any of the parties. The nominated work may be a fiction or non-fiction published work in any genre, or another substantial body of work. The winner of the Rosie receives a cash prize of $4000. Potential nominees are urged to contact the IPEd Corporate Services Officer at corporateservices@iped-editors.org if they have queries as to whether a particular project fits the criteria for nomination.

The Rosie is awarded biennially, in the year of the IPEd National Editors Conference. An editor may be nominated for more than one project in a given year and may be nominated in multiple years, provided the nominations are for different editorial relationships.

2017–2018 Rosie

Read about the winning entry of the 20172018 Rosie.

2015–2016 Rosie

Read about the winning entry of the 2015–2016 Rosie.

IPEd Prize

IPEd seeks to support and foster research in editing and publishing as part of its broader mission to enhance the profession of editing.

As part of this mission IPEd sponsors an annual prize of $250 for an essay or paper written as part of the requirements for a postgraduate degree in editing, publishing or another discipline that permits a focus on editing. 

Essays may be term papers or essays submitted as part of course work. Students are advised to discuss with their program director the advisability of their submitting a paper for the IPEd prize.

To be considered, submissions should: 

  • have gained a High Distinction (HD) or A+ grade from course assessors
  • be between 2000 and 3000 words in length
  • have been written in the year of their submission
  • not previously have been published
  • represent the writer’s own work, unedited by anyone else.

In addition, the writer should have sought permissions for all copyright material included by way of illustration.

Submissions are limited to one per candidate.

The submission will be judged by the criteria listed below. The essay or term-paper should:

  • contain original research on issues in editing and publishing
  • present a well-structured argument
  • use and properly document primary and secondary sources
  • be engaging and well-written
  • be a well-edited piece of writing.

IPEd will appoint a panel of well-qualified reviewers to judge the essay prize. However, please note that if, in the opinion of the judges, none of the entries reaches the required standard, no prize will be awarded.

2016 IPEd Prize

Read about the IPEd Prize 2016 and the winning entry.

2015 IPEd Prize

Read about the IPEd Prize 2015 and the winning entry.

2014 IPEd Prize

Read about the IPEd Prize 2014 and the winning entry.

2013 IPEd Prize

Read about the IPEd Prize 2013 and the winning entry.

2012 IPEd Prize

Read about  IPEd Prize 2012 and the winning entry.

Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship

The Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship recognises and rewards the contribution of book editors to Australian writing and publishing. Applicants should have at least five years’ editorial work experience in quality Australian fiction and non-fiction, in either adult or children’s publishing.

Named in honour of one of Australia’s finest literary editors, Beatrice Davis, this prestigious fellowship allows an editor to spend 12 weeks in the editorial department of a United States publishing house or houses.

It is sponsored by the Literature Fund of the Australia Council, the Australian Publishers Association, IPEd and the Australian publishing industry.

Barbara Ramsden Award

The Barbara Ramsden Award is sponsored by the Fellowship of Australian Writers as part of the National Literary Awards. It is a major literary award for a book of quality writing in any field of literature, and it recognises the contributions by both author and editor in producing the final product.

The award, named after esteemed Melbourne editor Barbara Ramsden, started in 1971 and ran until 1992. It was revived in 2006 with the support of the Society of Editors (Victoria) Inc.

The award supplies two specially cast bronze plaques designed by renowned sculptor and medallionist, Michael Meszaros, which are presented to the author and the publisher’s editor to recognise the combined effort of both parties to achieve the final result. The design is of the origin of art, showing the creator at work, and a figure representing the forces that ensure its effective communication.

Find an editor

IPEd has established the Editors Directory. Clients can search the directory for freelance editors using specific criteria. These will identify editors that have specific interests, skills or experience in certain areas.